Press Releases Index

October 30, 2003
CONTACT: Jette Englund
Office of University Relations
(908) 527-3410
Libby DeGrado-Condo
(973) 467-1348

Kean University Hosts Fifth Annual Andrew De Grado
Piano Competition Winners’ Recital

UNION, N.J. – Sixteen talented winners of the Fifth Annual Andrew De Grado Piano Competition will perform in the Kean University Little Theatre at 1000 Morris Avenue in Union, N.J., on Sunday, November 16, at 3 p.m.
The winners, ages 11 through 18, were chosen from of a group of 108 talented New Jersey pianists who participated in the October auditions, which also was held at Kean University. The adjudicators were Dr. Martha Marchena, Kean University professor, Victor Macarol and Joseph Patrych. The “timer” was Daniela Suarez.

Winners in various piano soloist age categories and their New Jersey hometowns are: Chrystal Chang, East Brunswick; Jamie Cai, Wyckoff; Kyle Ehrmann, Wayne; Daniel Kahn, Warren; Josephine Li, Plainsboro; Kevin Luan, Princeton; Andrew Nguyen, Mt. Laurel; Kathryn Salfelder, Fair Lawn; Elizabeth Schwartzman, Englewood Cliffs; Jacek Skryzalin, Cherry Hill; Katie Wang, Plainsboro; Daria Wong, Edison; John Wu, Clinton; Laurissa Yee, Marlboro; Henry Zheng, Homdel. The winner in the piano-accompanist category is pianist Jonathan Leung who will be performing with cello soloist Amanda Franz; their hometown is Chatham.

The Andrew De Grado Piano Competition and Winners’ Recital have been made possible in cooperation with Kean University School of Visual and Performing Arts and Dr. Mark Terenzi, chair of the Department of Music. In addition, the program received a 2003 HEART GRANT (History, Education, Arts – Reaching Thousands) from the Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders.

The Winners’ Recital is open to the public at no charge.