Awards Ceremony

The Department of English held a combined Awards Ceremony on April 22, 2009 (CAS 106, 5:30 - 6:30 pm. The winners of the awards were as follows:

W. John Bauer Endowed Scholarship in English: Tim Lowe

McDonnell-Millard Teaching Excellence Award: Professor Johanna Church

McDonnell-Millard Distinguished Student Writing Award:

  • First place: Rhonda Grindell (Instructor: Dr. Maria Montaperto)
  • Second place:Jerome T. Derios (Instructor: Dr. Sally Chandler)
  • Third place: Benito Nieves (Instructor: Prof. Cynthia Cavanaugh)

Stephen J. Haselton Excellence in Scholarship Award

  • James Metzger (Instructor: Dr. Susanna Rich)
  • Amanda Sabo (Instructor: Dr. John Gruesser)

Kean University Poetry Contest:

  • First Place: Jennifer Filannino, "Earthen Aria"
  • Second Place: Ruby L. Simmons, "I'm Enough"
  • Third Place" Elisa D'Amico, "I Was Losing You"
  • Honorable Mentions:
    • Patrick Sullivan, "Clothes Can Wait"
    • Tim Lowe, "I Like Poetry"

Kean University, English Department, CAS 301, 1000 Morris Avenue, New Jersey 07083 :: 908-737-0370