Writing Emphasis Committee Meeting 10/04/21 at 3:30 PM EST

Agenda:	Members (Present in Bold):
Introductions	Eman Arafa
Select Chair and Vice Chair	Linda Cahir
Create and Amend Charges	Linda Cifelli
	Min-Chung (Amanda) Han
	Marshall Hayes
	Kathryn Inskeep
	Lucas Kirby
	Agie Markiewicz-Hocking
	Brian Oakes
	Byeonghwa Park
	Ray Viglione
	Darion Washington

Minutes:

The meeting began at 3:30 PM with Agie Markiewicz-Hocking serving as facilitator.

We began by introducing ourselves and our involvement in courses with a designated writing focus. We mentioned the general need for and proposed initiatives to implement additional writing-focused assignments (including feedback, revision, and reflection) across our curricula.

The committee moved on to addressing our understanding of the directives from the University Senate. We questioned whether any historical documents were available from previous versions of the committee, and whether or not they would have been maintained in the University Senate records. We agreed to contact the University Senate secretary to inquire as to what was available.

We discussed establishing a collaborative space on Kean Google for sharing of documentation. Agie Markiewicz-Hocking agreed to spearhead that effort.

We confirmed that our updated charges are due to Craig Donovan and the University Senate no later than November 15. We also clarified that minutes for each meeting are to be submitted at the end of our term. It was suggested to use the automated transcription features on Zoom whenever we are holding a virtual meeting.

We also discussed the preferred locations for future meetings. We agreed that, to maximize participation, we would stick with virtual meetings via the Zoom platform and would also schedule the VISER room for those who are able to assemble in person.

We solicited nominations for a committee chair, vice-chair and secretary. Agie Markiewicz-Hocking was proposed as chair given her expertise and prior involvement in cross-campus writing discussions. However, there was some question as to whether her administrative position allowed her to serve as chair per Senate guidelines. Linda Cifelli agreed to serve as chair and to work closely with Agie in the

position of vice-chair. Both positions were seconded and approved. Marshall Hayes volunteered to serve as secretary and was also approved.

We agreed to gather additional information on past documents for the committee, share any documents via the Kean Google Drive and then reconvene to discuss and update our charges.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:09 PM.