Page Header

School of English Studies

Page Sub Header

College of Liberal Arts

Faculty in English Studies

The School’s faculty includes widely-published scholars and creative writers with degrees from such prominent institutions as Harvard, Princeton, Columbia, Oxford, New York University, and the University of Wisconsin. The faculty is also noted as distinguished teachers with a preference for interactive instruction, student participation and personal mentoring.

Faculty

JAN BALAKIAN

Jan Balakian
Professor
Ph.D., Cornell University
CAS 322 
T: 908-737-0374 
jbalakia@kean.edu

DEAN CASALE

Dean Casale
Associate Professor
Ph.D., State University of N.Y., Stony Brook
CAS 333 
T: 908-737-0379
dcasale@kean.edu

DANIEL GOVER

Daniel Gover
Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University
World Literature Coordinator
CAS 327
T: 908-737-0386 
dgover@kean.edu

RUTH GRIFFITH

Ruth Griffith
Associate Professor
CAS 317
T: 908-737-0387
rgriffit@kean.edu

JOHN GRUESSER

John Cullen Gruesser
Professor
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin
CAS 332
T: 908-737-0388
jgruesse@kean.edu

CHARLES P. NELSON

Charles Nelson
Executive Director, School of English Studies
Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin
Assistant Chair
CAS 318
T: 908-737-0393
cnelson@kean.edu
www.kean.edu/~cnelson

NIRA GUPTA-CASALE

Nira Gupta-Casale
Associate Professor
Ph.D., State University of N.Y., Stony Brook
CAS 323 
T: 908-737-0389
ncasale@kean.edu

SUSANNA RICH

Susanna Rich
Professor
Ph.D. New York University
CAS 325
T: 908-737-0395
srich@kean.edu

MARIA (MIA) CHRISTINE ZAMORA

Maria (Mia) Christine Zamora
Associate Professor
Director, MA in Writing Studies & KU Writing Project
Coordinator, World Literature Program

Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, Madison
CAS 329
T: 908-737-0385
mzamora@kean.edu
www.MiaZamoraPhD.com
twitter: @MiaZamoraPhD

 

Lecturers

LISA SISLER

Lisa Sisler
Lecturer
Coordinator, Composition Studies
M.F.A. English
T. 908-737-0398
lsisler@kean.edu

 

Emeriti Faculty

Betsy Rodriguez-Bachiller

Professor and Coordinator, Graduate and Post-Baccalaureate TESL
Ed.D., Rutgers University

Linda Best

Professor
Director, Kean University Writing Project
Ed. D., University of Rochester 1993

Nancy Brilliant

Assistant Professor
M.A., Boston University

Sally Chandler

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Wayne State University 2001

James Connor

Professor
Ph.D., University of Iowa

Sarah Ducksworth

Professor
Ed D., Rutgers University 

Robert Fyne

Professor
Ph.D., New York University 

Richard Katz

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Washington

Maria Montaperto

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Nebraska, Lincoln 2005

Marsha Robinson

Professor 
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania 1987

Sharon Snyder

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University

Inner Page Footer