Skip to main content

Return to Campus

Kean University has created a comprehensive Climb Higher Restart Plan for Fall 2020. Please visit the Return to Campus page to find details and contact information for student services, admissions and more.

County College of Morris Joins Pathway to Kean Program

Kean President Lamont O. Repollet signs the Pathway to Kean agreement with CCM.

In a virtual ceremony, Kean University President Lamont O. Repollet, Ed.D., signs the Pathway to Kean agreement with County College of Morris.

Presidents of CCM and Kean University sign dual admission agreement

The presidents of Kean University and County College of Morris (CCM) today signed an agreement bringing CCM into the Pathway to Kean dual admission program, providing students with access to an affordable path for earning both an associate degree and a bachelor’s degree. 

Pathway to Kean, launched this fall, offers students who don’t initially meet University admissions standards a formal, alternate route to earning a Kean degree. Under the program, Kean will offer these students conditional acceptance into the University through the Pathway to Kean program, as long as they enroll and complete their associate degree. 

“We are delighted to launch the Pathway to Kean program with CCM. The program increases access and equity to higher education,” said Kean President Lamont O. Repollet, Ed.D. “CCM is recognized for excellence in higher education, and together we are expanding educational opportunities for New Jersey’s students.”

CCM graduates can choose to study near their home at Kean’s newest Skylands campus in Jefferson or at Kean’s main campus in Union and Kean Ocean in Toms River and Manahawkin. Kean also has a campus in Wenzhou, China, Wenzhou-Kean University.

“We’re pleased to be partnering with Kean University on this agreement so more students can seamlessly transfer to earn a bachelor’s degree,” said Anthony J. Iacono, Ph.D., president of CCM. “Under this agreement, students can simultaneously enroll at CCM and Kean through its Pathway to Kean program so they can continue their higher education after earning their associate degree. We’re proud to be enhancing our relationship with such a great institution for the benefit of our students.”

Students applying to Kean and are conditionally accepted into Pathway to Kean will have their contact information sent to CCM. Kean will work with the county college admissions office to ease their enrollment into the dual admission program. Once enrolled, Kean will provide support services at the county college and remotely for students in the program. Before the students graduate from CCM, their educational records will be shared with Kean for a smooth transition to the four-year degree program.

Initially, six CCM programs will offer seamless transfer into Kean bachelor’s degree programs, and more are planned. They are: Business Administration to Business Management; Liberal Arts to Psychology; Biology – Environmental Biology; Chemical Technology to Environmental Biology; Human Services to Psychology; and Criminal Justice to Criminal Justice.

Kean is recognized as a transfer-student friendly institution and has been named to the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Transfer Honor Roll for several years. Students who transfer to Kean benefit from the most affordable tuition rates in the state among four-year colleges, combined with additional affordability from low tuition rates at the county college level.

Essex County College, Middlesex County College, Ocean County College, Union County College and Warren County Community College will also join the Pathway to Kean program this year. The program will expand to include more New Jersey county colleges over the next two years.